Domaine Klein Constantia is one of the oldest vineyards in Cape Town, South Africa, dating back to 1685. After...Lire la suite

There are 3 products.

Showing 1-3 of 3 item(s)

Domaine Klein Constantia is one of the oldest vineyards in Cape Town, South Africa, dating back to 1685. After its heyday in the 19th century, Domaine Klein Constantia returned to world renown in the 1980s. It produces mainly white wines, including the famous Vin de Constance.

Location of Domaine Klein Constantia

Domaine Klein Constantia is located in the heart of the Constantia Valley, south of Cape Town. This vineyard in south-west South Africa is just 10 kilometers from the ocean. The estate's vineyard covers 146 hectares. Its main grape varieties are Sauvignon Blanc, Muscat de Frontignan, Chardonnay and Cabernet Sauvignon.

Domaine Klein Constantia wines

Domaine Klein Constantia's flagship wine is Vin de Constance. This is a sweet white wine made exclusively from Muscat grapes. Its characteristic 500-mL bottle is reminiscent of an old-fashioned bottle. Highly acclaimed in the 19th century, it is now considered one of the world's finest sweet wines.

Vin de Constance is a particularly complex wine. The grapes are harvested by hand over a two-month period, to obtain batches with distinct characteristics. Cold maceration lasts up to two weeks. Barrel fermentation lasts between six months and a year. Vin de Constance is aged on its lees for at least three years. The final blend takes advantage of the characteristics of the different batches.

Domaine Klein Constantia's production is not limited to Vin de Constance. White wines include Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay and Riesling. Red wines include a Red Blend made from Cabernet Sauvignon, Malbec and Petit Verdot.

Le Domaine Klein Constantia est un des plus vieux vignobles du Cap, en Afrique du Sud, dont l'origine...Lire la suite

Il y a 1 produit.

Affichage 1-1 de 1 article(s)

Le Domaine Klein Constantia est un des plus vieux vignobles du Cap, en Afrique du Sud, dont l'origine remonte à 1685. Après avoir connu son heure de gloire au XIXe siècle, le Domaine Klein Constantia est revenu au premier plan mondial dans les années 1980. Sa production est principalement composée de vins blancs, dont le très célèbre Vin de Constance.

Situation géographique du Domaine Klein Constantia

Le Domaine Klein Constantia se situe au cœur de la vallée de Constantia, au sud du Cap. Ce vignoble du sud-ouest de l'Afrique du Sud est à seulement 10 kilomètres de l'océan. La surface du vignoble du domaine est de 146 hectares. Ses principaux cépages sont le Sauvignon Blanc, le Muscat de Frontignan, le Chardonnay et le Cabernet Sauvignon.

Les vins du Domaine Klein Constantia

Le vin phare du Domaine Klein Constantia est le Vin de Constance. Il s'agit d'un vin blanc liquoreux, élaboré exclusivement à partir de Muscat. Sa bouteille caractéristique, d'une contenance de 500 mL, évoque la forme des bouteilles anciennes. Très réputé au XIXe siècle, ce vin est considéré aujourd'hui comme l'un des plus grands vins liquoreux au monde.

La vinification du Vin de Constance est particulièrement complexe. Les vendanges, manuelles, sont étalées sur deux mois pour obtenir des lots aux caractéristiques distinctes. La macération, à froid, peut durer jusqu'à deux semaines. La fermentation en fûts dure entre six mois et un an. L'élevage du Vin de Constance se fait sur lies pendant au moins trois ans. L'assemblage final met à profit les caractéristiques des différents lots.

La production du Domaine Klein Constantia ne se limite pas au Vin de Constance. En vin blanc, le domaine produit entre autres un Sauvignon Blanc, un Chardonnay et un Riesling. En vin rouge, il propose notamment un Red Blend, à base de Cabernet Sauvignon, de Malbec et de Petit Verdot.