Raùl Perez produces wines in many Spanish wine regions (Bierzo, Ribeira Sacra, Rias Baixas) and even in South Africa! But his "home" is in Valtuille de Abajo,...Lire la suite

There are 12 products.

Showing 1-12 of 12 item(s)

Raùl Perez produces wines in many Spanish wine regions (Bierzo, Ribeira Sacra, Rias Baixas) and even in South Africa! But his "home" is in Valtuille de Abajo, his native village in the Bierzo region, where his family has been cultivating vines for centuries. Of course, the reputation of his wines extends far beyond Spain's borders! Raùl Perez is considered one of the most visionary winemakers in the world! Indeed, at the age of 22, in 1994, he produced his first vintage for his family's Castro Ventosa estate, bringing him to the forefront of the avant-garde winemaking scene.

Raùl makes his wines and works his vineyards as naturally as possible: in the winery, no filtering, no wine stabilization and the use of local yeasts. In the vineyards, very few or no treatments are used, and he even has a few abandoned plots to experiment with the resulting wines. Raùl plays with all kinds of grape varieties: hundred-year-old Mencia vines, Grenache from the Sierras de Gredos, Godello de Bierzo and many others. The winemaker is also known for his incredible sensitivity in understanding each terroir he works with and the ecosystem in which the vines grow. His wines are simply authentic and true to their terroir!

Location of the estate

The estate and winery are located in the north-western part of Spain, in the Bierzo region, but Raùl Perez also produces wines from other appellations such as Rías Baixas, Monterrei, León and Ribeira Sacra. The Villegas vineyard (Valtuille de abajo, Bierzo, Spain) is Raùl Perez's most popular. The 2-hectare vineyard faces south. The 130-year-old vines are planted on sandy soil (in contrast to the region's clay soils) at an altitude of around 600m. Most of the vineyard is planted with Mencía, with a minority of Bastardo and Alicante Bouschet.

Estate wines

Raùl Perez's wines reflect the characteristics of the vineyards from which they originate and, as he likes to say, convey the " simple complexity " of their vineyard of origin. He takes great care of his vines, practicing low-intervention vinification to preserve their geographical identity. One of Raùl Perez's best-loved and best-known wine collections is Ultreia. This word is an expression of encouragement used by pilgrims on their way to Santiago de Compostela. Among this collection, the Cuvée Saint Jacques expresses notes of wild strawberries, violets and spices (due to aging in oak barrels). Cuvée Gundiñas, a blend of Mencía, Bastardo, Alicante Bouschet and Siria, offers notes of fresh, juicy fruit with supple tannins and an acidity that allows it to be forgotten in the cellar for a few years.

Raùl Perez produit des vins dans de nombreuses régions viticoles espagnoles (Bierzo, Ribeira Sacra, Rias Baixas) et même en Afrique du Sud ! Mais son « chez lui » se situe à...Lire la suite

10 produits disponibles

Affichage 1-10 de 10 article(s)

Raùl Perez produit des vins dans de nombreuses régions viticoles espagnoles (Bierzo, Ribeira Sacra, Rias Baixas) et même en Afrique du Sud ! Mais son « chez lui » se situe à Valtuille de Abajo, son village natal du Bierzo où sa famille cultive la vigne depuis plusieurs siècles. Bien sûr, la renommée de ses vins dépasse très largement les frontières espagnoles ! Raùl Perez est considéré comme l’un des vignerons les plus visionnaires dans le monde ! En effet, à l’âge de 22 ans, en 1994, il produit son premier millésime pour le domaine familial Castro Ventosa, qui le met en avant de la scène des vignerons avant-gardistes.

Raùl élabore des vins et travaille son vignoble le plus naturellement possible : en cuverie, pas de filtrage, pas de stabilisation des vins et utilisation de levures locales. Dans les vignes, très peu ou pas du tout de traitements, il a même quelques parcelles laissées à l’abandon pour expérimenter les vins qui en résultent. Raùl s’amuse avec toutes sortes de cépages : pieds de Mencia centenaires, Grenache des Sierras de Gredos, Godello de Bierzo et plein d’autres encore. Le vigneron est aussi connu pour avoir une sensibilité incroyable à comprendre chaque terroir qu’il travaille et de comprendre l’écosystème dans lequel pousse la vigne. Ses vins sont tout simplement authentiques et fidèles à leur terroir !

Situation géographique du domaine

Le domaine et la cave sont situés dans la partie Nord-ouest de l’Espagne, dans la région du Bierzo mais Raùl Perez produit également des vins d’autres appellations telles que Rías Baixas, Monterrei, León et Ribeira Sacra. Le vignoble de Villegas (Valtuille de abajo, Bierzo, Espagne) est le plus apprécié de Raùl Perez. Le vignoble de 2 hectares est orienté au sud. Les vignes d’environ 130 ans sont plantées sur un sol sablonneux (contrairement aux sols de la région qui sont plutôt argileux) à environ 600m d’altitude. Le vignoble est majoritairement planté en Mencía, avec une minorité de Bastardo et d'Alicante Bouschet.

Les vins du domaine

Les vins de Raùl Perez reflètent les caractéristiques du vignoble dont ils proviennent et, comme il aime le dire, ils transmettent la « simple complexité » de leur vignoble d’origine. Il prend soin de ses vignes et pratique des vinifications peu interventionniste pour conserver leur identité géographique. Une des collection de vins de Raùl Perez la plus appréciée et la plus connue est Ultreia. Ce mot est une expression d’encouragement que les pèlerins se rendant à Saint-Jacques de Compostelle utilisent pour se saluer. Parmi cette collection, la cuvée Saint Jacques exprime des notes de fraises des bois, de violette et d’épices (dû à l’élevage en fûts de chêne). La cuvée Gundiñas, un assemblage de Mencía, Bastardo, Alicante Bouschet et de Siria, offre des notes de fruits frais et juteux avec des tanins souples et une acidité qui lui permet d’être oublié en cave quelques années.