In the Bordeaux wine region, the viticultural history of Château Calon-Ségur began in the 12th century with the marquis...Read more

2 products available

Displaying 1-2 of 2 items
Château Calon-Ségur - CHÂTEAU CALON-SÉGUR
1 IN STOCK
PARKER
93
PARKER
95
VINOUS
93 NM

Château Calon-Ségur 2017

Red | Bordeaux CHÂTEAU CALON-SÉGUR
Price 450,00 € 300 cl

In the Bordeaux wine region, the wine history of Château Calon-Ségur began in the 12th century with the Marquis Nicolas-Alexandre de Ségur, president of the Bordeaux parliament. Nicknamed "Prince of the vines" by Louis XV, he said of this Saint-Estephe vineyard: "I make wine at Lafite and Latour, but my heart is in Calon". The heart affixed to the bottles of Château Calon-Ségur attests to this. Third classified growth during the classification of the Médoc wines in 1855, Château Calon-Ségur fell to the Capbern-Gasqueton family in 1894. Owner of the famous vineyards of Château Capbern-Gasqueton, this family will manage the castle for over a century. In 2012, Château Calon-Ségur was bought by the Suravenir insurance group.

Geographical location of Château Calon-Ségur

Anchored at the gates of Saint-Estèphe, Château Calon-Ségur stretches along the Gironde estuary north of Bordeaux. Located in the northern part of the Saint-Estèphe appellation, the property covers 94 hectares of which 55 hectares are planted vines. Typical of the Médoc, the terroir of the property is composed of a layer of gravel on a clay base. The single vineyard respects the following proportions: 56% Cabernet Sauvignon, 35% Merlot, 7% Cabernet Franc and 2% Petit Verdot. The average age of the vines at Château Calon-Ségur varies between 22 and 40 years.

The wines of Château Calon-Ségur

At Château Calon-Ségur the grapes are harvested manually. The wine making is traditional. The red wine is aged in oak barrels for 18 to 20 months. The result is an aromatic, powerful and woody Saint-Estephe with notes of black fruits and spices. The château also produces a second red wine: the Marquis de Calon-Ségur, with velvety notes. The third wine, with a fresh and fruity character, is made from young vines. It is called Saint-Estèphe de Calon-Ségur.

Dans la région des vins de Bordeaux, l’histoire viticole du Château Calon-Ségur débute au XIIe siècle avec le marquis...Lire la suite

Il y a 1 produit.

Affichage 1-1 de 1 article(s)

Dans la région des vins de Bordeaux, l’histoire viticole du Château Calon-Ségur débute au XIIe siècle avec le marquis Nicolas-Alexandre de Ségur, président du parlement de Bordeaux. Surnommé "Prince des vignes" par Louis XV, il dira de ce vignoble de Saint-Estèphe : "Je fais du vin à Lafite et à Latour, mais mon cœur est à Calon". Le cœur apposé sur les bouteilles de Château Calon-Ségur en atteste. Troisième cru classé lors du classement des vins du Médoc en 1855, le Château Calon-Ségur échoit à la famille Capbern-Gasqueton en 1894. Propriétaire des célèbres vignes du Château Capbern-Gasqueton, cette famille dirigera le château pendant plus d'un siècle. En 2012, le Château Calon-Ségur est racheté par le groupe d'Assurances Suravenir.

Situation géographique du Château Calon-Ségur

Ancré aux portes de Saint-Estèphe, le Château Calon-Ségur s'étend le long de l’estuaire de la Gironde au nord de Bordeaux. Situé sur la partie nord de l’appellation Saint-Estèphe, la propriété couvre 94 hectares dont 55 hectares de vignes plantées. Typique du Médoc, le terroir de la propriété est composé d’une couche de graves sur un socle argileux. Le vignoble d’un seul tenant respecte les proportions suivantes : 56 % de cabernet sauvignon, 35 % de merlot, 7 % de cabernet franc et 2% de petit verdot. Les vignes du Château Calon-Ségur oscillent entre 22 et 40 ans d'âge moyen.

Les vins du Château Calon-Ségur

Au Château Calon-Ségur les vendanges se font manuellement. La vinification est traditionnelle. L'élevage du vin rouge en barriques de chêne dure de 18 à 20 mois. Il en résulte un Saint-Estèphe aromatique, puissant et boisé avec des notes de fruits noirs et d'épices. Le château produit également un second vin rouge : le Marquis de Calon-Ségur, aux notes veloutées. Le troisième vin, au tempérament frais et fruité, est issu de jeunes vignes. Il répond au nom de Saint-Estèphe de Calon-Ségur.