Domaine Vega Sicilia was founded in 1864 in Valbuena de Duero (Valladolid province, north-west Spain) by Eloy Lecanda y Chaves. He planted 18,000 vines of Cabernet Sauvignon,...Lire la suite

There are 4 products.

Showing 1-4 of 4 item(s)

Unico 2013

Ribera Del Duero | Red
VEGA SICILIA
Price €300.00 75 cl

Unico 2012

Ribera Del Duero | Red
VEGA SICILIA
Price €400.00 75 cl

Unico 2006

Ribera Del Duero | Red
VEGA SICILIA
Price €12,500.00 300 cl

Domaine Vega Sicilia was founded in 1864 in Valbuena de Duero (Valladolid province, north-west Spain) by Eloy Lecanda y Chaves. He planted 18,000 vines of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Malbec and Pinot Noir. The estate has been in the hands of the Álvarez family since 1982, when Miguel Neumann decided to sell it to them. The Álvarez family has greatly expanded the estate, which now covers some 250 hectares.

Geographical location of the estate

The vineyards of Domaine Vega Sicilia stretch along the Duero River in north-western Spain. The plots are on gentle slopes, requiring manual harvesting. The soils along the river are varied. In fact, even on a single plot, soil typicity can vary between the top of the slope and its lowest part. Generally speaking, Ribera del Duero soils are sandy, marly and sometimes gravelly, with layers of limestone. The climate of the Ribera del Duero is described as continental, with a wide temperature range between day and night, and extreme temperatures in summer with little rainfall.

The estate's wines

The majority of Domaine Vega Sicilia's vineyards are planted with Tempranillo, the emblematic grape variety of Rioja and Ribera del Duero. The estate's wines are made with a majority of Tempranillo. In the case of the estate's most emblematic wine, Único(unique in Spanish), it is made from a blend of Tempranillo and Cabernet Sauvignon, the proportion varying according to the vintage. This cuvée has a character specific to the Ribera del Duero terroir and a very special touch conferred by the estate's know-how. Indeed, Único undergoes a long ageing process in various containers. Although the details are secret, before reaching the hands of lucky buyers, this wine spends around 6 years in wood (French and American oak barrels of various ages and sizes) and 4 years in bottle.

Le Domaine Vega Sicilia a été fondé en 1864 à Valbuena de Duero (Province de Valladolid située au Nord-Ouest de l’Espagne) par Eloy Lecanda y Chaves. Il planta 18 000 plants de...Lire la suite

Il y a 1 produit.

Affichage 1-1 de 1 article(s)

Le Domaine Vega Sicilia a été fondé en 1864 à Valbuena de Duero (Province de Valladolid située au Nord-Ouest de l’Espagne) par Eloy Lecanda y Chaves. Il planta 18 000 plants de vignes de Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Malbec et Pinot Noir. Le domaine est aux mains de la Famille Álvarez depuis 1982, date à laquelle Miguel Neumann décida de lui vendre le domaine. La Famille Álvarez a largement agrandit le domaine puisqu’il compte aujourd’hui environ 250 hectares.

Situation géographique du domaine

Le vignoble du Domaine Vega Sicilia s’étend au Nord-Ouest de l’Espagne le long du Fleuve Duero. Les parcelles sont en pentes douces ce qui requiert des vendanges manuelles. Les sols qui bordent ce fleuve sont variés. En effet, même sur une parcelle la typicité du sol peut varier entre le haut de la pente et sa partie la plus basse. De façon générale, les sols de la Ribera del Duero sont sablonneux, marneux, parfois graveleux avec des couches de calcaire. Le climat de la Ribera del Duero est qualifié de climat continental avec une amplitude thermique importante entre le jour et la nuit de même que des températures extrêmes en été avec peu de précipitations.

Les vins du domaine

Le vignoble du Domaine Vega Sicilia est majoritairement planté avec le cépage Tempranillo, cépage emblématique de la Rioja et de la Ribera del Duero. Les vins du Domaine sont ainsi élaborés à partir d’une majorité de Tempranillo. Dans le cas du vin le plus emblématique du Domaine, Único (unique en espagnol), il est issu d’un assemble de Tempranillo et de Cabernet Sauvignon, la proportion étant variable selon le millésime. Cette cuvée possède un caractère spécifique au terroir de la Ribera del Duero et une touche très spéciale conférée par le savoir-faire du Domaine. En effet, Único passe par un élevage long dans divers contenant. Bien que les détails soient secrets, avant d’arriver entre les mains de chanceux acquéreurs, ce vin passe environ 6 ans passera 6 ans sous bois (fûts de chêne français, américain, de plusieurs âges différents et de plusieurs tailles différentes) et 4 ans en bouteille.